2AM PHOTO

It’s 2AM and your phone has just buzzed you awake, filling the room in white-blue LED light. You have a message. It’s a photo. No words, no explanation. Just a photo. Tell us all about it. And what happens next.

I was walking, the man behind me stalking… No, he was drifting, stealthily quiet behind me, like my shadow. I wanted to turn around, confront him, but my mind rang ‘alert’ bells. If I were to turn around, I felt like I was going to meet dark hollow eyes and a row of sharp blood-stained teeth, than to be dripping with my freshly drawn blood. I turned to my left on a dark side-walk, the light poles dimming the silent road with a yellow, dead haze. I moved on, not sure of my direction, but I had to keep moving, that was for sure, I thought to myself. Suddenly, I felt a light whisper against my hear, a small shift in the air, creating instant goose bumps that ran down from my now cold neck, to my trembling limbs.

Without hesitating, I ran quickly, and so did the ‘man’. Big mistake! Now I was forced to run! He was chasing me now, gaining up on me. My heart pounded heavily in my chest, aching to burst out of my rib cage and onto the pavement below me. The man slithered behind me, I felt as if a big force of darkness was going to enclose me the moment I stopped, but I kept on, my sick fear keeping my adrenaline up.

Thank heavens! My house! My house was close, so I sprinted the last block. Almost there, almost there, keeping going! I screamed to myself. My front door was strangely open, but I didn’t hesitate to dash in and up the stairs to my room. I slammed my door shut and jumped on my bed.
That moment I awoke by a bright light shining heavily on my face. I was sweating and my heart beated quickly like a galloping horse. I squinted and after registering shakily for a few seconds, I grabbed my phone from my chest, sat up and looked at a strange text message, received at 2 a.m
2 a.m??! Who the hell?…. I scratched my head nervously and slide the unlock button, opening up the message.Oh? A photo? It took a few brief moments before the photo popped on my screen. It was a barely lit room with a dimmed night light that was across from the bed. I made out a girl peacefully sleeping and dark figure looking down with black hollow eyes and a evil smile. Wait wait wait… I gasped, my stomach clenching in suppressed fear and I began to shake. That was my night light, my bed, and…. that was me. Than I slowly looked up, to where the figure stood overlooking me. I dreaded my eyes along the body of that demon that haunted me in my dreams. I looked up to his blank face and morbid smile, with blood-stained teeth. It laughed hideously as I screamed, enveloping me in the darkness that surrounded me.

Leave a Reply

